Library of Congress News

Facebook Likes

February 9, 2005 Foundation, Miller Consider Birthplace Stamp


Today, James Monroe Foundation President Bill Thomas and Board of Trustees member Justin Logsdon attended a special ceremony dedicating the President Ronald Reagan commemorative postage stamp at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington D.C. The Reagan stamp honoring the nation's 40th President will be issued Nationwide and available to the public on February 9.

The United States Postal Service is honoring a man who was known by his fellow Americans as the great communicator," said Postmaster General John E. Potter in making the initial introduction. "The famous Reagan smile reflected on the stamp's image radiates his confidence."



Award winning artists Crystal Gayle and Lee Greenwood accompanied an elite group of government officials at the ceremony including James Miller, Chairman, U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors and former Director, U.S. Office of Management and Budget (1985-1988) and Chairman, Federal Trade Commission (1981-1985) and Edwin Meese, III, Former U.S. Attorney General (1985-1988) and Chief Policy Advisor to President Reagan (1981-1985).

Chairman Miller, at the request of the Foundation has agreed to consider the issue of a stamp from the restored James Monroe Birthplace.

"The stamp would be a fitting tribute to President Monroe," said President Thomas.

The Foundation is currently offering a proposal to build a historically accurate reconstructed farmhouse possibly with some reconstructed outbuildings at the childhood home of James Monroe.